잠자리의 집

상상은 여권이 필요없는 여행이다

마마무, 에스나 ~ 아훕!


Mamamoo, eSNa, “Ahh Oop!”

There are lots of people who say that Korea’s gender relations resemble that of the US in the 1950’s. Considering how the World Economic Forum ranked Korea an abysmal 117th in its 2014 Global Gender Gap Report, that might be a fairly accurate assessment. To give that 117 some context, Canada, the US, and the UK came in at 19th, 20th, and 26th respectively. 117th is the worst rank of any Asian country (North Korea was excluded because North Korea, but really their economic problems probably far outweigh any other problems). Even the UAE and Quatar rank higher than Korea.

Now, it’s easy to point at Prime Minister Park Geun-hye and Korea’s fairly equal education system, but ultimately Korean women remain politically and especially economically disadvantaged. For an example, here are Simon and Martina talking about their personal experiences with gender differences in Korea.

And that’s why I think kpop needs “Aah Oop,” following in the footsteps of songs like Miss A’s “I Don’t Need a Man” and… oh yeah, in an industry overrun with “I Got a Boy“s, there really aren’t a lot of clearly female-empowering songs in kpop. Even Mamamoo are no exception; their previous singles like “Mr. Ambiguous” and “Piano Man” are unabashedly centered around men, but considering the lack of alternatives and the fact that Mamamoo are some of the best singers in the kpop industry regardless of rookie status, I simply enjoyed their songs at face value.

The difference with “Ahh Oop” quite obviously lies with eSNa, a Korean-American singer-songwriter-musician-woman-of-many-talents who wrote the song as a collaboration. Maybe it’s the American influence, maybe it’s just because eSNa is awesome, but not only did she give Mamamoo a topical song that really suits their vocal style, her own vocals compliment theirs while still adding something unique. That’s the way collaborations should work.

The music video is the icing on the cake. It plays on the idea of Korean attitudes being stuck in the past by giving everything a retro feel. The outfits, the props, the “advertisements,” even the song itself just oozes 50’s.

Lyrics

한국어:

Look at my eyes
Look at my lips
Look at my neck
Just look don’t touch
Look at the way I
wa- walk it out
From side to side
Just look don’t touch

Everywhere I go I get the feeling
불같이 뜨거운 시선들
서서히 다가오는 my little monster
딱 거기까지

비켜라 out my way 밀고 땡기고
미치겠네 다칠까봐 걱정되잖아
여기요 저기요 나 좀 봐줘요
이리 저리 들려오는 귀찮은 얘기들

아훕! 너무 예뻐요
Oh baby please behave yourself
뻔한 얘긴 제발 stop
나는 저 멀리 떠나버렸어
Ain’t nobody got time for this

쓸때없는 용기만 내면
뭐 어쩌라고
잘 생기면 다니
네 머리 속엔 메아리만 들려 텅텅텅
자꾸 쪽쪽쪽
수준이 맞아야 대화를 할 것 아냐
Just look don’t touch

Every time you come a little closer
넌 심장 소리 커지고 pow pow pow
이대로 가면 너만 다칠 것 같은걸
저만치 떨어져 있는 게 좋을걸

꺼져라 일로와 밀고 땡기고
미치겠네 다칠 까봐 걱정되잖아
1분만 10초만 시간 내줘요
이리 저리 들려오는 귀찮은 얘기들

아훕! 난 너뿐이야
Oh baby please behave yourself
뻔한 얘긴 제발 stop
나는 저 멀리 떠나버렸어
Ain’t nobody got time for this

Listen to me boys
다 필요 없어
남자가 돼야지, 안 그래?
잊지 말라고 내가 하는 얘기들
손부터 쓰지 말고
Gotta respect a girl

자 따라 해봐
이벤트는 필요 없어
비싼 것도 필요 없어
여기까지 좋지?
화풀이 할 때 다 들어줘
자존심 같은 것 다 버려

문스타
다 잡은 물고기 네가 다 확 깨
어장 치는 분위기 손 잡고 잘게
오빠 믿어 남자는 다 그래?
아빠 말처럼~ 남자는 다 늑대
거기 못난이 (what) 자꾸 봐 내 다리
진짜 너 내 타입 아냐 절대 no
넥타이나 똑바로 고쳐 매
볼 일 없어 그만 굿바이

기회를 줄 테니 just don’t screw it up
(Come on Baby Baby Baby)
미치겠네 다칠 까봐 걱정되잖아
(Oh! I’m worried for you babe)
말로만 하지 말고 생각 좀 해
남자답게 다가 와봐 답답하잖아

아훕! 알아들었니?
Oh baby please behave yourself
뻔한 얘긴 제발 stop
나는 저 멀리 떠나버렸어
Really though, ain’t nobody got time for this

English

Look at my eyes
Look at my lips
Look at my neck
Just look, don’t touch
Look at the way I
wa- walk it out
from side to side
Just look, don’t touch

Everywhere I go I get the feeling
of the hot fire-like attention
My little monsters are gradually approaching
Just up to there!

“Move out my way,” “Playing hard to get?”
“I’m going crazy,” “I’m afraid you’ll get hurt,”
“Here, there, take a look at me,”
I hear all sorts of annoying things

(Ahh oop!) “You’re so pretty.”
Oh baby please behave yourself
Please stop the stereotypical talk
I left for far away
Ain’t nobody got time for this

If all you come to me with is useless courage,
what am I supposed to do?
Are good looks everything?
All I can hear are echos in your head, echo -cho -cho
You keep (trying to) smooch smooch smooch
That’s your level, we won’t (be able to) converse
Just look, don’t touch

Every time you come a little closer
The sound of your heart gets louder (pow pow pow)
If you leave like this, you’re the only one who will get hurt
You falling away is a good thing

“Go away,” “Come here,” “Playing hard to get?”
“I’m going crazy,” “I’m worried you’ll get hurt,”
“Give me just one minute, just ten seconds,”
I hear all sorts of annoying things

(Ahh oop!) “You’re the only one for me.”
Oh baby please, behave yourself
Please stop this stereotypical talk
I left for far away
Ain’t nobody got time for this

Listen to me, boys
I don’t need any of that
You have to be come a man, am I wrong?
Don’t forget what I’m saying
Stop using your hands, for a start
Gotta respect a girl

Well, try to follow me
I don’t need events [1]
I don’t need expensive things, either
You good so far?
Listen to everything when I let off steam
Self-confidence and the like, throw it all away

Moonstar
You’ve completely woken up all the fish you’ve grabbed
You feel like putting a fence around the fishery, holding hands while sleeping [2]
“Believe oppa,” are all guys like that?!
Like daddy said, all men are wolves
Hey you fool (what) you keep looking at my legs
You’re really not my type at all, no
Properly straighten your tie
There’s nothing to see, (just) stop, goodbye

“I’ll give you a chance so just don’t screw it up,”
(Come on baby baby baby)
“I’m going crazy,” “I’m worried you might get hurt,”
(Oh, I’m worried for you babe)
Don’t just speak, think a little
Follow me like a man
It’s frustrating, isn’t it?

(Ahh oop!) You get what I’m saying?
Oh baby please behave yourself
Please stop this stereotypical talk
I’ve left far away
Really though, ain’t nobody got time for this

[1] “Event” is written in Konglish, but like most Konglish its meaning is a little different from the original English. In Korean, “event” has the sense of a spectacle, like doing some huge show for Valentine’s day, confession of love, marriage proposal, etc.

[2] While I’m not sure of the translation, I’ve decided to go with this one because I’ve seen a lot of references where the idea of keeping potential suitors interested is likened to maintaining a fishery, like in the drama “Kill Me, Heal Me.”

Korean lyrics from Daum

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
